Faculty Recognition

Innovative Teaching

Each year, one college/university faculty member is chosen to be recognized for their innovation in teaching theatre.

 Nominations (including self-nominations) will be solicited yearly in the Fall with an awardee chosen in early December by the Regional Executive Committee.  The application consists of a description of innovative teaching, CV, and two letters of recommendation.  The winner will receieve a KCACTF Region 2 Conference fee voucher (for the following year), an invitation to present on their teaching at the following year’s Conference, and a certificate.  This award will be presented at the Festival’s Gold Medallion Dinner.

Previous Winners:

2023- Bryan Vandevender; Bucknell University

2022- Suzanne Delle; York College of PA

Road Warrior

This award is meant to provide special recognition for people who are critical to the success of the festival: the Regional Production Respondents.  Response is the heart and soul of the KCACTF mission of learning about the theatre, and every week many of our colleagues donate their time and talents toward that mission.

If you feel you have encountered a potential nominee, please consider the following items:

Did the person exhibit exceptional commitment to KCACTF through their oral response, their professionalism, their collegiality, their flexibility, their efficient travel and punctuality, their willingness to go above and beyond the normal expectations of serving as a respondent?

The Region 2 Executive Committee will present the “Road Warrior Award” winner(s) at the regional festival in January.

To nominate someone for this award, please send an e-mail to chair@kcactf2.org.

Previous Winners:

2023- Michael Swanson


Gold Medallion

Each year, the eight KCACTF regions honor individuals or organizations that have made extraordinary contributions to the teaching and producing of theatre and who have significantly dedicated their time, artistry and enthusiasm to the development of the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival. Most importantly, recipients have demonstrated a strong commitment to the values and goals of KCACTF and to excellence in educational theatre. It is the most prestigious regional award given by KCACTF and is considered one of the great honors in theatre education.

Previous Winners:

2023- Baron Kelly & Jimmy Noriega